Mining collegium

MINING COLLEGIUM (EN: mining board; DE: Bergkollegium; FR: Berg-college; ES: consejo de mineria; RU: Берг-коллегия) is the organization for the administration of the ore mining enterprises within Russia. It has been established during the 1719 according to the initiative of the tsar Peter I instead of the Ore department, which has been abolished.

The Mining collegium acted during the 1720-22 together with the Manufacturing collegium, which has been established at the same time. Since the 1722, it is the independent institution. The Mining collegium acted during the 1719-31, 1742-84, 1796-1806. The presidents of the Mining collegium were: Ya. V. Bruce (1719-26); A. K. Zybin (1726-31); A. F. Tomilov (1742-53); I. A. Schlatter (1760-61); A. E. Musin-Pushkin (1767-71); M. F. Soymonov, (1771-81); I. I. Ryazanov (1781-84); A. A. Nartov (1796-98); A. V. Alyabyev (1798-1802); A. I. Korsakov (1802-06).

The Mining collegium complied with the Mining privilege and Mining regulation, and also with the named and Senate decrees. The Mining collegium and the local authorities, which were subordinate to it, namely, the Moscow city mining office, and the Tobolsk city mining leadership (the Main mining administration, and the Nerchinsk city mining administration) were in charge of the laboratory expertise of the newly discovered ores, of the allocation of the places for the industrial plants, mines and of the providing the loans for their construction, of the consideration of the disputes among the industrialists, of the collection of the taxes from the industrialists, of the assignment of the tsar's peasants to the industrial plants, and also of the issuance of the permissions for the purchase of the serfs for the industrial plants, of the consideration of the complaints from the industrialists, assigned peasants, and craft people, of the performance of the punitive functions onto the assigned peasants, of the protection of the industrialists against the intervention of the local administration into their businesses, of the transfer of the governmental industrial plants to the private persons, and of the receiving of the private industrial plants into the governmental treasury, of the administration of the governmental industrial plants, of the organization of the sales for their produce. Since the 1802, the Mining collegium has been subordinated to the Ministry of the finances, it has been abolished during the 1806, and its functions have been transferred to the Mining department.