AMERICA (RU: Америка) is the part of the world, which is formed by the two continents, namely, the North America and South America; they usually draw the border between them through the Isthmus of Panama. It is situated within the Western hemisphere between the Atlantic and Pacific oceans. They often distinguish within the North America the Central America and the West Indies islands.

There also belong to America the island of Greenland and the series of the other nearby islands. The total area of America is 42.5 million square kilometres. The population is 620 million (1980).